• 2008/10/17

    Electric President Vol.1 - [Music]


    Artist: Goddamn Electric Bill
    Album: Topics For Gossipby
    Country: San Diego, California, United States
    Release: October 1, 2008
    Label: 99X/10 Records
    Style: Electronic /Ambient /Post-Rock

    Track Listing:

    1. The Morning Commute
    2. Our History, Part 2
    3. Wake Me Up
    4. The Shallows
    5. Clouds and a Bee
    6. Hermit
    7. Crossfire
    8. Ten Thousand Years
    9. Pink Ribbon
    10. In Memory

     Sound/Info: Myspace, Review: TSB, Download: Mediafire (Thank "Watch the World Burn" for the Link)

    The sounds of Goddamn Electric Bill were never meant to leave Jason Torbert’s bedroom. But the one-man band, a propulsive blend of ambient electronic and post-rock music, made its way out to the world anyway.

    In its short lifetime, Goddamn Electric Bill has already been nominated for a San Diego Music Award, created a stir in the MySpace musical community, released a debut full-length called Swallowed by the Machines on 99X/10 Records (run by former Cure keysman Roger O’Donnell) and been featured in San Diego CityBEAT and Music Matters Magazine. But Torbert isn’t new to the musical arena.

    Torbert’s suburban childhood was spent learning violin and trombone before he took off for University of Oregon, where he studied ethnomusicology. It was at University of Oregon that Torbert began his seven-year stint as the bassist for a popular punk outfit called Cigar. The band eventually signed to a label run by Pennywise guitarist Fletcher Dragge and toured internationally before calling it quits. He tried his luck at a few other projects, including one band that recorded with At The Drive-In/Sparta drummer Tony Hajjar and signed to Sparta frontman Jim Ward’s label, Restart Records, but Torbert quickly figured out that the band life wasn’t for him.

    It was the sounds Torbert made on his own – from bass, guitar, keys, Rhodes, sitar, mbira, percussion and bagpipes – that turned into Goddamn Electric Bill. And it is those sounds that Slug Magazine called “jaw-dropping cinematic tracks” and Rip It Up Magazine called “uplifting in both mood and subtlety.” And it is those sounds that continue to cause a stir.

    之前内张大怪兽头的专辑封面还记忆忧新, 一晃眼Goddamn Electric Bill这个熟悉的名字又一次出现在新砖上市的名单里...
    1o月都快2o号了,气温依旧维持在26,7度,丝毫没有下降的意思...呃...或许真的不会有2o13年吧= =...
    专辑如封面,介绍很长,TSB的Review也很长= =...蛮舒服的Electro(acoustic),时不时呈现Ambient/Post-Rock的架构...



    i'm a minimalist 2008/10/17


  • 这个团我喜欢啊 谢谢咯 XD
    不谢不谢...Evi侬头一次来留言= =...
    2008-10-17 22:45:04